Thursday, August 11, 2011
Why the ignorance? Light skin vs dark skin?
Because the truth of the matter is that society has caused us to believe that lighter is better. Lighter is privelidged. Ever watch the move School Daze? Ever heard of the Willie Lynch, where back in slavery times white people figured the best way to demoralize and keep us down was by making us hate eachther. Remember what they used to call house ******? This is all implanted into our brains from households, schools, television.. Why do you think most lightskinned women are in music videos? Why do you see almost every black male celebrity in a relationship with someone other than an average sista? Why do you think women like Lil Kim and Beyonce bleach their skin? This is what we're brought up in. I've known people in my family to down their own neices and nephews by saying stuff like "why don't you have long hair like so and so". Always praising the lightskinned girl. It's sad, but true. Not saying that dark sisters and brothers aren't desired, but society and ignorant people have made it out to be. There's a female on my job who is really dark, and it pissed me off when another black girl told her you're pretty for a dark girl, because most dark people are ugly. That pissed me off and it just shows the type of mentality many black people still hang on to.
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)
No comments:
Post a Comment